The Heartache Of Competition

Here we are again, finally some time to sit down and write for a few minutes. As far as traveling with the team goes, we actually do not have that much free time, and the free time we do have is often spent studying or actually taking exams. This trip has been filled with time spent on the airport, in the air or on a bus, with the occasional pleasure of soccer. However, we lost the first game on this merry trip, leaving us utterly exposed as far as the league goes. With two games left we are in need of two wins in order to make it to the play-off. Pressure is on, but honestly there is no doubt in my mind that we can and will pull it off.

To completely change the subject as to my little side hobby of filming, the awards for the AT&T commercial I filmed over the summer just got assigned. Sad to say that I lost, but credit must go to the other competitors as they entry’s simply were better. I do feel as if I have taken steps forward in the quality of my submissions, and soon I do hope to actual win some money. Finishing up school will also help,  not having worry about homework and exams will definitely allow for some creative juice to flow. Now I know some of you might say that work will take all my time as soon as I graduate, well to you all I say that I am excellent at getting my work done on time. Also, the briefs and competitions that Zooppa and MoFilm among others are becoming more and more interesting as well as challenging, and they really allow us “film makers” to play around with our creativity. The constant updates and variety among competitions leaves something for all to embark upon.

Also, as far as creating video and script goes, today one of our soccer alums joined us for team dinner. I had the opportunity to chat with him for a few minutes after, and as it turns out he his living the film industry life in New York. He took a career turn that I admire, I alway felt as if hand on stuff is the best way to actually learn and become skilled at something. Well anyhow, instead of heading off to film school and as it is here accumulate debt, he had the opportunity to go straight into work. Utterly inexperienced, but with a interest of learning as quick as possible. Best way to success, and now he is working on full features and produces his own work in collaborations with others.Honestly, I cannot wait to see his work. I am not talking Hunger Games or James Bond, but more the independent side the industry which if you ask me is the heart and soul of the art and passion behind creating film. I do hope to create a few of my own pieces in the same manner in the future. In order to fulfill that dream I do hope that I will get the opportunity to work a crew in NYC at some point  in order to pick up a thing or two.

So cheers to pressure above measure and to unexpected contacts with the same passion as ourselves, and enjoy the this spooky weekend we all call Halloween.

///Sebastian

Leave a Reply

