Life As A Senior In College

Hello people, I hope you all are enjoying the fact that it is Friday, time to relax and enjoy time away from the weekly responsibilities. Well, almost at least, I have practice at 5, but after that it is clear skies and no turbulence.

One thing I have noticed as I have entered my senior year here at Marquette University is that classes are not only becoming more interesting but also more demanding. No longer can I just wait to do an assignment a day or two before it is due in a few classes. Now they all require planning and preparation as least a week ahed of time. Which off course is not bad at all, however, there is one conflict that comes with being a senior. The job search, a process that takes up countless hours, make a resume, remake that resume 5 times, tweak it for every possible job. Cover letter, revise and redo, and tweak for every job. Find companies that are hiring, and that are hiring in a field where you have an interest. Network like never before, reach out to every possible person that could possibly help you get a job.

A teacher ones told me, if you want to make it in Hollywood there is one thing you have to do. Never sleep, instead of sleeping go to every party, every event, every lunch and dinner that you possibly can find. And as the process of hiring is evolving, and trough my own experience so far I would say that there is one line that sticks with me” It is not about what you know, but who you know”.

So as this interesting experience continues I will strive to connect and learn form professionals in the industry, and if everything goes as planned I will have a job offer by the time I graduate from Marquette.

But know it is time for some homework before it is time to practice and than relax.

Also, Go Sweden, Olympic final here we come. And actually strange to know that Erik Karlsson who I used to train with is the point leader for the Swedish team. One time we lived very similar lives, but not anymore. Hopefully he will score the game winner in the final on Sunday!

//Sebastian

Leave a Reply

