Script

Here is one of my old scripts, I received an A for it!

Sorry about the format, but this is how it comes up when I insert it.

I hope you will enjoy it.

 

 

PRAY FOR FAITH

 

by

 

Sebastian Jansson

 

 

 

 

In a land far far away, David, a very religious 52 year old man, just held a funeral for the love of his life, Mary. The funeral took place next to their house in the forest, next to Mary’s favorite tree. The funeral is over, but a lonely man is still sitting in his chair watching David with interest. David is kneeling at the altar, and he is in deep thoughts about the meaning of life and what to believe in.

 

 

FADE IN:

INT.  ALTAR IN THE FOREST – AFTERNOON

 

DAVID

WHY? We who always have praised you, we who never lost faith, why would you take her away from me… (SCREAMS) WHY?

 

MAN

Friend, why believe in something that only gives you this?

 

DAVID

Don’t speak of what you don’t know.

 

MAN

Well you see I do know, I’ve been betrayed by god as well.

 

DAVID

The god has not betrayed me, all that happens is for a reason.

 

MAN

What was the reason for Mary to die so young, so innocent?

 

DAVID

I have no answers to this…Why can’t you explain this, mighty god?

 

MAN

He doesn’t hold the answers, David.

 

David turns around towards the man with his eyes wide open. The man puts his hands on each of David’s cheeks.

 

Man

You see David, he (POINTS UP) doesn’t hold the answers..I do.

 

DAVID

Who are you?

 

MAN

You already know, David.

 

DAVID

Why me? Why now?

 

MAN

Let’s put it like this, your wife died because of (POINTS UP) him. And I’m simply here to…help you.

 

David

Help me…What do you mean?

 

MAN

You see, David. I’m a man with certain…powers.

 

DAVID

(REACHES OUT AND GRABS THE MAN’S ARMS) Can you get Mary back?

 

MAN

(SMIRKS)

There are no limits to what I can do, and the question is not what I can do, but what you are prepared to do.

 

DAVID

Anything!

 

MAN

Well you see, David. There is only one little thing you need to do to have your wife in your arms again.

 

DAVID

Anything, I’ll do ANYTHING.

 

MAN

(PULLS OUT A TINY SUITCASE)

The only thing you need to do is deny your god and put your soul in this suitcase.

 

DAVID

Anything but that.

 

 

MAN

Get your wife back, or lose her forever. Your choice, David.

 

DAVID

(PICKS UP THE SUITCASE)

Deny god… I can’t do it, I simply can’t.

 

 

Lightning strikes the man and he vanquishes. A deep voice is heard coming from the sky.

 

VOICE

David, my son you have passed the test.

 

DAVID

What? Who are you? What do you mean?

 

VOICE

I am GOD, and you have proven yourself to be a true believer.

 

DAVID

I had no other choice.

 

VOICE

A true believer will always be rewarded in a proper manner.

 

The casket door flies open and Mary walks out of it alive.

 

DAVID

Mary is it really you?

 

MARY

Yes David it is.

They embrace each other crying of happiness, and so they lived happily ever after.

 

FADE OUT.

 

///Sebastian

6 thoughts on “Script

  1. thank you son, I used your script on the lesson today. one question that the student come up with was how could mary come from the sky when she was buried ? Well I thought it was a great and emotionel script that would make a lovely film, good noght and please keep up and also print it on the blogg so I have the chance to used it love mom

  2. thanks son, I will tell them tomorrow. Oscar and I meant to skype with you this evening but we started to watch a movie “The boy in striped pyjamas” Pojken i den randiga pyjamasen and we could not stop you have to see it. love mom

  3. One more question she is in the gorund how can she get up from the casket when all the soil is around and she is in the casket, my students wonder..love mom

Leave a Reply

